The development of the I Ching


The development of the I Ching

The Eight Trigrams

There is probably a connection between the development of the I Ching and ancient Chinese divination techniques, such as the animal bone oracle, traces of which can be found as far back as 5,000 BC. Here, the cracks and lines in the bones were supposed to provide information about the future. Patterns in the shell lines of turtles were also read.

The origin of the "Book of Changes" can be traced back to the legendary first Chinese emperor Fu Hi (3,000 BC). He is said to have studied the dualistic principle and the laws of the universe and developed a system of lines that symbolized the laws of nature.

The spiritual foundation of the I Ching is thus the principle of Yin and Yang. Assuming all events in the world is determined by the polarity and interaction of two dualities. First, Yin and Yang symbolize the dualism of the universe- without movement, no progress, and no change are possible (The concepts of Yin and Yang are probably younger than the I Ching itself, but the principle of dualism has been utilized in Chinese philosophy for longer).



Yin is ascribed the adjectives feminine, receptive, soft, and weak.
Yang is the masculine, intense, challenging, and giving principle.

A solid line stands for the stable Yang and a broken line for the stable Yin in the I Ching. Within the hexagrams, the changing Yang line and a changing Yin line also appear.

--- Yang

9 - changing yang line

- 6 - changing Yin line

Emperor Fu Hi developed the eight trigrams from these yin and yang lines. These are symbols consisting of a combination of three Yin and / or Yang lines. The lower line symbolizes the forces of the earth, the middle line represents forces of man, and the upper line represents forces of heaven. Together, all possible combinations result in eight different trigrams, to which different meanings are attributed. They all stand for a natural phenomenon: sky, fire, water, mountain, wind, thunder, lake, and earth.


The trigrams:

Trigram Name Image Meaning Family Direction Cycle
KIÄN Heaven Creative, active, strong, attacking, persistent, fertilizing, leading, male Father upwards Effort, struggle
KUN Earth Passive, yielding, extending, absorbing, receiving, feminine Mother downwards Devotion, service
JEN Thunder Exciting, energizing, stimulating, vital, fertilizing, dynamic, emotional, moving, awakening 1. Son upwards Beginning of the movement
SUN Wind Penetrating, feeling, receptive, growing, unfolding, expanding, gentle, penetrating 1. Daughter downwards Maturity, age
LI Fire Bright, shaping, clarifying, thinking, distinguishing, warmth, radiant, adherent, dependent, wild, strange 2. Daughter upwards Appearance, perception
KAN Water Dark, formless, uncertain, emotion, feel, cold, absorbing, depth, abyss, danger 2. Son downwards Pain, Strain
DUI Lake Reflective, light, bright, joyful, contemplative, looking, changing, transforming, inspiring 3. Son upwards Joy, cheerfulness
GEN Mountain Persistent, steady, heavy, calm, equanimous, collection, reluctant, patient, keeping still 3. Daughter downwards Perfection, completion


The eight trigrams are often arranged in a circle. In this way, it becomes clear that our life is in a constant state of change, which is determined by the laws of nature.


The trigrams were already used as oracles. Over time, however, they did not prove to be sufficient answers to questions. They lack the temporal aspect that is needed to show paths and possibilities for development. This temporal movement only comes about through the composition of two trigrams, each into a hexagram (trigram = 3 lines, hexagram = 6 lines). All possible combinations together result in a total of 64 different hexagrams.

Rate this page

  • Current rating: 0 out of 5 stars
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Rating: 0/5 (0 votes)

Thank you for voting!

You have already voted.

Your rating was changed!


I-Ging | Foto: (c) Dan -
Photo: © Dan -

I Ching

What is the I Ching? The I Ching is an ancient Chinese divination that uses coins to form Hexagrams. An interpretation is made and then translated as an oracle. Its teachings and descriptions are some of the oldest written texts and still contain relevant wisdom today. This book of instructions is commonly referred to as "The Book of Changes," a text dating back to 5000 B.C. 

What is the I Ching?

Most people are familiar with the I Ching as an ancient Chinese sho...

The Development of the I Ching: The 8 Trigrams

The origin of the "Book of Changes " can be traced back to the firs...

The 64 hexagrams and their development

The 64 hexagrams of the I Ching are said to have been developed by...

Guide to the I Ching

Here you will find instructions for this ancient Chinese  coin orac...

You may also like ...

Horoscope Shop of
Photo: © Lyuba Burakova /

What are the stars telling you about your life?

By the way: Our website is ad-free for all paying customers who have created a user account.  read more

Daily Horoscope
Photo: © Stefan Koerber -

Horoscope for Wednesday, 1/19: There are no significant changes in the starry sky on this day, which is why we want to draw attention to today's day of the week, which is ruled by Mercury.  read more

Daily horoscope - Full Moon
Photo: © Thanawut Sumtib / EyeEm via Getty Images

Horoscope for Tuesday 18 Jan: Today is the Full Moon in Cancer - which will make us very emotional - and Uranus goes direct. Uranus can bring surprises  read more

Photo: ©

Today is a day for venturing out with family, loved ones or good friends, as the Moon in Cancer and Neptune in Pisces awaken the need for true emotions and a cosy home  read more

Horoscope for the 3rd week (17.1. - 23.1.)
Photo: © EmotionPhoto /

This week is the birthday of the Water Maenas and they will receive a lot of energy from the sun. Already at the beginning of the week we can have meaningful dreams. Maybe you will already think of something on this day that can bring you further in life. Believe in your dreams this week!  read more

Yearly horoscope 2021 by
Photo: © Liliya Rodnikova /

What will the year 2021 - the year of Saturn - be like from an astrological point of view for the 12 signs of the zodiac? Read all about love, profession and health. All important astrological data.  read more